Univ.-Prof. Dr. Esther Pogatzki-Zahn, Germany | Advisory Committee

Esther M. Pogatzki-Zahn, MD, PhD
Professor of Anesthesiology, Head of Acute Pain Service
Anaesthesiologist, Pain Specialist
University Hospital Muenster, Dept. of Anesthesiology, Critical Care Medicine and Pain Therapy, Albert-Schweitzer-Campus 1, A1, Muensterpogatzki@anit.uni-muenster.de

Esther Pogatzki-Zahn (MD, PhD) is an anesthesiologist, pain specialist and full professor in the Department of Anaesthesiology, Intensive Care and Pain Medicine, University Hospital Muenster, Germany. Her main clinical work is pain management (acute, chronic and palliative); she leads the acute pain service at the University Clinic. Furthermore, she leads a large pain research group at the Iniversity of Muenster. Her research goal is to bridge the gap between basic animal research and clinical practice. She was trained as a PhD in Neuroscience in 2 basic science laboratories in the US from 1998-2003 and in Muenster, she performs basic science studies (e.g. in-vivo behavioral, pharmacological, in-vivo and in-vitro neurophysiological and in-vitro studies of neurons in slices and in culture) aiming to provide insight into the neuropathology of incisional, chronic inflammatory, neuropathic and cancer related pain. In addition, she is working with human surrogate models of postoperative and neuropathic pain and uses quantitative sensory testing (QST) and imaging techniques like fMRI to explore acute and chronic pain in humans. Finally, she performs clinical studies and is involved as a PI in international multicenter projects like Pain-Out, a large acute international acute pain registry. She is member of the Prospect initiative (www.postoppain.org) and the DFNS e.V. (http://www.neuro.med.tu-muenchen.de/dfns/e_index.html). She won a number of national and international research awards and is part of several “pain” advisory and society boards including the SIG Acute Pain of the IASP (Co-Chair since 2016) and the European Society of Anaesthesiologist (Chair of the Scientific subcommittee 8, acute and chronic pain and palliative care). She is an active member of several international pain, anaesthesia and neuroscience societies and on review boards of leading journals including Anesthesiology, Pain, NeuroImage, Journal of. Neuroscience and Anesthesia & Analgesia.